2021 Board of Trustees Elections

Help us Preserve the Open, Global Internet

The Internet Society serves a pivotal role in the world as a global leader on Internet policy, technical, economic, and social matters, and as a strong supporter of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). Central to our success is the volunteer leadership provided by a dedicated and discerning Board of Trustees. We encourage qualified individuals to consider serving on the board.

The Opportunity

In 2021, the Internet Society’s Chapters will be asked to elect one member to the board, Organization Members will be asked to elect two members, and the IETF will be asked to appoint two members following the process documented in RFC 3677.

One of the two Organization Member seats will include the usual three-year term of office. The other seat was recently filled on a temporary basis after the resignation of a Trustee originally elected for a three-year term in 2019. This seat will include a one-year term. The candidate in the Organization Members election who receives the highest weighted vote count will be seated for a full three-year term, and the candidate with the next highest weighted vote count will be seated for a one-year term.

All successful candidates will be asked to participate in a board orientation program after the elections, and all will begin their terms on the board during the Annual General Meeting currently scheduled for July 31 – August 1, 2021.

The Role of the Board of Trustees

In support of the organization’s mission to promote the development of the Internet as a global technical infrastructure, a resource to enrich people’s lives, and a force for good in society, the board provides strategic direction, oversight, inspiration, support and advice. The board’s role is strictly limited to governance, which is by definition, the creation of policies, and continuous monitoring of their proper implementation. In consultation with the CEO, the board sets up strategic goals and helps devise a high-level strategic action plan to reach them. Once the goals and plans are approved, the board oversees management’s implementation and measures results of the actions taken in accordance with the plan.

The Role of Individual Trustees

  • Become familiar with the many complex technology, policy and development issues we face;
  • Bring diverse professional backgrounds and regional perspectives to board deliberations;
  • Attend board meetings* (three to four per year) and monthly videoconferences;
  • Volunteer to lead or serve on one or more committees of the board;
  • Participate in online board discussions, polls, surveys and e-votes as required;
  • Trustees also currently serve as Trustees of the Internet Society Foundation board.

* Reimbursement for travel to board meetings and retreats is provided to Trustees who request it. The Internet Society does not provide other compensation for board service.

2020-2021 Elections Timetable

As adopted by the Board on 13 October 2020

Monday, 2 November 2020

Call for Nominations Opens

Friday, 4 December 2020 at 15:00 UTC

Nominations Period Closes

Wednesday, 27 January 2021

Election Eligibility Cut-Off Date

Friday, 12 February 2021

Candidate Slates Announced Petitions Period Opens

Friday, 26 February 2021 at 15:00 UTC

Deadline for Receipt of Petition Requests

Friday, 5 March 2021 at 15:00 UTC

Deadline for Receipt of Petition Signatures

Monday, 8 March 2021

Final Candidate Slates Announced

Friday, 26 March 2021

Candidates Forums Open

Friday, 9 April 2021

Candidates Forums Close Ballots Posted Voting Opens

Friday, 23 April 2021 at 15:00 UTC

Voting Closes Ballots Counted

Monday, 26 April 2021

Certification & Announcement of Results Challenge period opens

Monday, 3 May 2021 at 15:00 UTC

Deadline for Receipt of Challenges

Wednesday, 10 May 2021

Challenge Response Period Ends

Tuesday, 11 May 2021

Election Results Finalized and Announced

2020-2021 Nominations Committee

George Sadowsky, Chair
Walid Al-Saqaf
Richard Barnes
Mike Godwin
Patrick McManus
Amir Qayyum

2020-2021 Elections Committee

Maimouna Diop, Chair
Fieda Lukas
Lars Steffen
Laura Thomson
Andrew Sullivan, Ex Officio