Final Results of the 2021 Internet Society Board of Trustees Elections and IETF Selections Thumbnail
About Internet Society 4 May 2021

Final Results of the 2021 Internet Society Board of Trustees Elections and IETF Selections

By Ndeye Maimouna DiopMember, Internet Society Board of Trustees

The Internet Society Elections Committee is pleased to announce the final results of the 2021 elections and the IETF selections for the Internet Society Board of Trustees.

Voting concluded on 23 April. The results were announced to the voting communities and the challenge period was opened on 26 April. The deadline to file challenges was 3 May at 15:00 UTC. No challenges were filed. Therefore, the election results announced on 26 April stand.

Chapters Election

In the Chapters election there were six (6) candidates for one (1) elective board seat.

Having received the most votes, Luis Martinez was been elected to a 3-year term as Trustee.

Separately, the Board, acting pursuant to its authority under Article II, Section 1(d) of the Internet Society bylaws, announced its intention to offer the runner-up in the Chapters election a one-year appointment as Trustee. This will restore the board to its usual complement of 12 voting members comprised of equal numbers from all three communities: Chapters, Organization Members and the IETF. The number of voting members fell to 11 when Olga Cavalli recently resigned with one year remaining in her term.

Muhammad Shabbir is the runner-up, having received the second highest number of votes in the Chapters election.

Organization Members Election

In the Organization Members election there were four (4) candidates for two (2) board seats, one which includes a three-year term and one which includes a one-year term. As previously announced, the candidate receiving the highest weighted vote count is elected for the full three-year term and the runner up is elected for a one-year term.

Robert Pepper received the highest weighted vote count and won election for a second three-year term.

Paul Ebersman received the second highest weighted vote count and won election for a one-year term.

IETF Selections

Following the process documented in RFC 3677, the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) has selected Brian Haberman and Jon Peterson on behalf of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) to serve on the Internet Society board for 3-year terms.

The terms of office for all of the new Trustees will commence with the Internet Society board’s 2021 Annual General Meeting in July.

The Elections Committee congratulates all of the new Trustees and expresses its gratitude once more to all the candidates, the members of the Nominations and Elections committees, the IAB, and to everyone who participated in the process this year.

Disclaimer: Viewpoints expressed in this post are those of the author and may or may not reflect official Internet Society positions.

Related articles

Mutually Agreed Norms for Routing Security (MANRS) 2 November 2023

Achieving Greater Heights for MANRS

Partnering with the Global Cyber Alliance (GCA), we believe that MANRS will continue to be further established as the...

About Internet Society 28 April 2023

Final Results of the 2023 Internet Society Board of Trustees Elections, IETF Selection, and Board Appointee

The Elections Committee announces the final results of the 2023 elections, the IETF selection, and the Board appointee. 

Shaping Future of the Internet 19 January 2023

From Internet User to Internet Champion

Internet Society has been nominated for two World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) Prizes. Read a firsthand account...