Board of Trustees Elections 2018

Help us Preserve the Open, Global Internet

The Internet Society serves a pivotal role in the world as a global leader on Internet policy, technical, economic, and social matters, and as the organizational home of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). Central to our success is the volunteer leadership provided by a dedicated and discerning Board of Trustees. We encourage interested individuals to consider serving on the board.

The Opportunity

The Internet Society’s by-laws specify that a total of four Trustees are to be selected each year by ISOC’s Chapters, Organization Members, and the IETF. The number for each community changes annually to maintain the board’s balance. In 2018 Chapters will elect one Trustee; Organization Members will elect one Trustee; and the IETF will select two Trustees. Following an orientation program, all new Trustees will begin 3-year terms commencing with the Annual General Meeting in June 2018.

The Role of the Board of Trustees

In support of the organization’s mission of preserving the open, global Internet, the board provides strategic direction, oversight, inspiration, support and advice. The board’s role is strictly limited to governance, which is by definition, the creation of policies, and continuous monitoring of their proper implementation. In consultation with the President and CEO, the board determines strategic goals and helps devise a high-level strategic action plan to reach them. Once the goals and plans are approved, the board oversees management’s implementation and measures results of actions taken in accordance with the plan.

The Role of Individual Trustees

  • Become familiar with the many complex technology, policy and development issues we face;
  • Bring diverse professional backgrounds and regional perspectives to board deliberations;
  • Attend board meetings* (three to four per year) and board teleconferences;
  • Volunteer to lead or serve on one or more committees of the board;
  • Participate in online board discussions, polls and surveys as required.

* Reimbursement for travel to board meetings and retreats is provided to Trustees who request it. The Internet Society does not provide other compensation for board service. Nominations close at 15:00 UTC on 15 December 2017.

Election Timetable

  • Call for Nominations opens: Friday, 27 October 2017
  • Nominations period closes: Friday, 15 December 2017 at 15:00 UTC
  • Election eligibility cut-off date: Friday, 26 January 2018
  • Nominations Committee deliberations end: Friday, 26 January 2018
  • Candidate slate announced. Petitions period opens: Friday, 2 February 2018
  • Deadline for receipt of Petitions: Friday, 16 February 2018 at 15:00 UTC
  • Deadline for receipt of Petition signatures: Friday, 23 February 2018 at 15:00 UTC
  • Final candidate slate announced: Monday, 26 February 2018
  • Elections start date: Ballots posted, Voting opens: Thursday, 8 March 2018
  • Voting closes. Ballots counted: Monday, 9 April 2018 at 15:00 UTC
  • Certification & announcement of results. Challenge period opens: Tuesday, 10 April 2018
  • Deadline for receipt of Challenges: Wednesday, 18 April 2018 at 15:00 UTC
  • Challenge response period ends: Wednesday, 25 April 2018
  • Election results finalized and announced: Thursday, 26 April 2018

Nominations Committee

  • Nadira Alaraj
  • Kathy Brown non-voting, ex-officio
  • Olga Cavalli, Chair
  • Glenn Deen
  • Glenn McKnight
  • Maryleana Mendez
  • Desiree Miloshevic
  • Barrack Otieno
  • Harish Pillay
  • Sean Turner
  • Tom Walsh
  • Russ White

Elections Committee

  • Kathryn Brown, non-voting, ex-officio
  • Gihan Dias
  • Hans Peter Dittler
  • Hiroshi Esaki, Chair