2017 Board of Trustees Elections

2023 Board of Trustees Elections
Help us Preserve the Open, Global Internet

The Internet Society serves a pivotal role in the world as a global leader on Internet policy, technical, economic, and social matters, and as the organizational home of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). Central to our success is the volunteer leadership provided by a dedicated and discerning Board of Trustees. We encourage interested individuals to consider serving on the board.

The Opportunity

The Internet Society’s by-laws specify that a total of four Trustees are to be selected each year by ISOC’s Chapters, Organization Members, and the IETF. The number for each community changes annually to maintain the board’s balance. In 2017 Chapters will elect two Trustees; Organization Members and the IETF will each select one Trustee. Following an orientation program, all new Trustees will begin 3-year terms commencing with the Annual General Meeting in June.

The Role of the Board of Trustees

In support of the organization’s mission of preserving the open, global Internet, the board provides strategic direction, oversight, inspiration, support and advice. The board’s role is strictly limited to governance, which is by definition, the creation of policies, and continuous monitoring of their proper implementation. In consultation with the CEO, the board sets up strategic goals and helps devise a high-level strategic action plan to reach them. Once the goals and plans are approved, the board oversees management’s implementation and measures results of the actions taken in accordance with the plan.

The Role of Individual Trustees
  • Become familiar with the many complex technology, policy and development issues we face;
  • Bring diverse professional backgrounds and regional perspectives to board deliberations;
  • Attend board meetings* (three to four per year) and board teleconferences;
  • Volunteer to lead or serve on one or more committees of the board;
  • Participate in online board discussions, polls and surveys as required.

* Reimbursement for travel to board meetings and retreats is provided to Trustees who request it. The Internet Society does not provide other compensation for board service.

Nominations closed at 15:00 UTC on 16 December 2016.

Election Timetable

  • Call for Nominations opens: Friday, 28 October 2016 
  • Nominations period closes: Friday, 16 December 2016 at 15:00 UTC
  • Election eligibility cut-off date: Friday, 27 January 2017
  • Nominations Committee deliberations end: Friday, 27 January 2017
  • Candidate slate announced. Petitions period opens: Friday, 3 February 2017
  • Deadline for receipt of Petitions: Friday, 17 February 2017 at 15:00 UTC
  • Deadline for receipt of Petition signatures: Friday, 24 February 2017 at 15:00 UTC 
  • Final candidate slate announced: Monday, 27 February 2017
  • Elections start date: Ballots posted, Voting opens: Thursday, 9 March 2017
  • Voting closes. Ballots counted: Monday, 10 April 2017 at 15:00 UTC
  • Certification & announcement of results. Challenge period opens: Tuesday, 11 April 2017 
  • Deadline for receipt of Challenges: Wednesday, 19 April 2017 at 15:00 UTC
  • Challenge response period ends: Wednesday, 26 April 2017
  • Election results finalized and announced: Thursday, 27 April 2017

Nominations Committee

  • Alice Munyua, Chair
  • Kathy Brown (ex-officio)
  • Martin Butterworth
  • Olga Cavalli
  • Nneka Chiazor
  • Tomohiro Fujisaki
  • Maryleana Mendez
  • Desiree Miloshevic
  • Barrack Otieno

Elections Committee

  • Walid Al-Saqaf
  • Kathryn Brown, , non-voting, ex-officio
  • Narelle Clark
  • Harish Pillay, Chair