Donate

Indigenous Connectivity Summit 2020

Policy & Advocacy Training Webinar

Agenda

Week 1: Stories of success in the time of COVID-19

Tuesday, 1 September 2020, 3:00pm ET / 12:00pm PT / 9:00am HT

Brandon Makaawaawa

Deputy Head of State of the Nation of Hawaii

Matthew Rantanen

Director of Technology, Southern California Tribal Chairmen’s Association (SCTCA)

Madeleine Redfern

President of the Ajungi Group

Week 2: Looking back and looking forward

Tuesday, 8 September 2020

Sally Braun headshot
Sally Braun

General Manager, Western James Bay Telecom Network

Dr. Rob McMahon

Associate Professor, University of Alberta; Master of Arts in Communication and Technology (MACT) and Master of Arts in Community Engagement (MACE)

Resources:

Week 3: Becoming an advocate and community consultations

Tuesday, 15 September 2020

Chris Mitchell

Director of the Community Broadband Networks Initiative, ILSR

Danae Wilson
Danae Wilson

Manager, Nez Perce Tribe Department of Technological Services; Tribe Member

Irene Flannery

Director, AMERIND Critical Infrastructure

Resources:

Week 4: Becoming an advocate in your community for funding

Tuesday, 22 September 2020

Wayne Miranda

Social Finance Investment Readiness Lead, McConnell Foundation / Innoweave

Denise Williams
Denise Williams

CEO, First Nations Technology Council

Week 5: Role of existing rules and laws

Tuesday, 29 September 2020

Claire Anderson

Commissioner for BC and Yukon, CRTC

Resources:

Week 6: Building the policy recommendations

Tuesday, 6 October 2020
(week of Indigenous Connectivity Summit)

Brandon Makaawaawa

Deputy Head of State of the Nation of Hawaii

Darrah Blackwater

J.D., University of Arizona, Indigenous & telecommunications law

Leading image: Working together with the Internet Society to learn how to use and install the Internet during the Internet Society/ Pu’uhonua O Waimanalo training session on November 14th, 2019. © Elyse Butler