‹ Retour
Renforcer l'Internet 9 juin 2016

Briefing sur la politique publique: Cryptage

Publié initialement: 9 juin 2016 
Mise à jour: 26 septembre 2022

Introduction

Nous sommes entourés de technologies de cryptage. Le cryptage est utilisé pour protéger les données envoyées depuis tous types d’appareils par le biais d’une multitude de réseaux divers. En plus de protéger les porte-clés électroniques mémorisant des mots de passe pour des ordinateurs et des tableurs qui sont « strictement personnels », le cryptage permet de protéger les informations qui sont échangées chaque fois qu’une personne utilise un distributeur de billets, réalise un achat depuis un téléphone intelligent, passe un appel depuis un téléphone mobile ou appuie sur une clé électronique pour déverrouiller une voiture. De plus en plus présente dans notre quotidien, cette technologie polyvalente est essentielle pour assurer la sécurité dans beaucoup de nos activités.

Le cryptage, c’est-à-dire le processus de brouillage ou de chiffrement des données afin que seule une personne disposant des moyens de les renvoyer à leur état d’origine puisse les consulter, est couramment utilisé pour protéger les données stockées sur des systèmes informatiques ainsi que les données transmises par des réseaux informatiques, y compris l’Internet. S’agissant des données transmises sur un réseau, le cryptage moderne brouille les données à l’aide d’une valeur ou d’une clé secrète que seuls le destinataire et l’expéditeur des données connaissent. Pour les données stockées, la clé est généralement cryptée à l’aide d’un code PIN ou d’un mot de passe connu uniquement du propriétaire de l’appareil.

Le cryptage et les techniques associées sont également utilisés pour développer une sécurité renforcée des transactions financières et pour protéger les communications privées des utilisateurs finaux. Ces technologies permettent par exemple de déterminer si des données ont été altérées (intégrité des données) et de renforcer la confiance des utilisateurs dans le fait qu’ils communiquent avec les destinataires prévus (authentification). Elles font partie des protocoles qui apportent la preuve que les messages ont été envoyés et reçus (non-répudiation).

Considérations clés

Dans la pratique, les technologies de cryptage sont réparties dans les catégories suivantes:

  • Le cryptage symétrique utilise une clé identique pour crypter et décrypter le message. L’expéditeur et le destinataire ont tous deux accès à la même clé. Bien que le cryptage symétrique soit rapide et efficace pour des ordinateurs, il nécessite de s’assurer que la clé est fournie de manière fiable au destinataire et qu’elle ne tombe pas entre de mauvaises mains.
  • Le cryptage asymétrique, également appelé « cryptage à clé publique », est une forme de cryptage unidirectionnelle. Les clés sont fournies par paires, et il n’est possible de décrypter les informations qui ont été cryptées avec la clé publique qu’à l’aide de la clé privée correspondante. Le destinataire publie une clé publique afin que l’expéditeur puisse crypter ses données. Le destinataire utilise ensuite une clé privée pour décrypter les données. Le processus est similaire à celui d’une boîte à lettres verrouillée équipée d’une fente où insérer le courrier, lequel ne peut être ensuite récupéré par son propriétaire qu’à l’aide d’une clé. Le cryptage à clé publique est plus sûr que le cryptage symétrique, car il n’est pas nécessaire de transférer la clé.
  • Le cryptage de bout en bout (E2E) désigne toute forme de cryptage par laquelle seuls l’expéditeur et le destinataire prévu peuvent lire le message. L’aspect le plus important du cryptage de bout en bout est qu’aucun tiers, même la partie qui fournit le service de communication, n’a connaissance de la clé de cryptage. Le cryptage de bout en bout comprend par exemple les protocoles Pretty Good Privacy (PGP) et Off-the-Record Messaging (OTR). Les services de communication à cryptage de bout en bout comprennent par exemple iMessage d’Apple, Signal, ProtonMail, WhatsApp et Threema. L’Electronic Frontier Foundation a publié un guide « Surveillance Self Defense » qui fournit des informations et des kits d’outils sur les fonctionnalités de divers services et appareils.
  • Le cryptage de données statiques désigne toute forme de cryptage protégeant les données qui sont physiquement stockées dans un format numérique (par exemple, sur des ordinateurs, des disques de stockage, des appareils mobiles ou l’Internet des objets).

Dans la pratique, le cryptage s’applique dans le cadre d’une approche à plusieurs niveaux. Par exemple, un utilisateur crypte son courriel à l’aide d’un protocole PGP ou d’extensions multifonctions/sécurisées du courrier Internet (S/MIME), et le fournisseur de service de messagerie électronique (par exemple, Gmail) chiffre la transmission du courriel à l’aide du protocole HTTPS.

Il est important de noter qu’avec le cryptage, toutes les données de communications ne sont pas nécessairement illisibles. Par exemple, il est possible que les métadonnées de communication – y compris les identifiants des expéditeurs et des destinataires, la longueur des messages, le lieu, la date et l’heure – soient exposées en texte clair.

Défis

La disponibilité généralisée du cryptage, ainsi que sa nature polyvalente et son utilisation par différents acteurs, présente un certain nombre de difficultés.

  • Liberté d’expression, anonymat et abus. Les technologies de cryptage facilitent les communications anonymes, ce qui représente un lien vital potentiel pour les citoyens et les militants qui vivent sous des régimes et des individus oppressifs dans des communautés vulnérables, comme les victimes de violence familiale, ceux qui participent à des programmes de protection de témoins, et des agents de police banalisés.

    La même technologie peut toutefois également aider des acteurs malveillants à masquer leurs activités et leurs communications grâce à des outils d’anonymat à des fins de cyberharcèlement et d’autres formes d’abus en ligne.

    L’Internet Society reconnaît le bien-fondé de l’objectif des États nations visant à protéger leurs citoyens, mais elle met en garde contre les tentatives de réglementation des technologies qui ont pour but d’empêcher les criminels de communiquer en toute confidentialité. Cette approche risque d’entraver la protection de la confidentialité des données et des communications des citoyens qui respectent la loi et de compromettre leurs droits à la confidentialité et à jouir de leur liberté d’expression et de leur liberté d’opinion. Comme nous l’avons présenté en détail dans notre rapport intitulé Collaborative Security (sécurité collaborative), l’objectif global de la sécurité devrait consister à promouvoir la confiance sur Internet et à assurer la poursuite de l’essor d’Internet en tant que moteur de l’innovation technique et des avantages économiques et sociaux.
  • Le dilemme entre la sécurité et la confidentialité. Les débats politiques sur le cryptage abordent fréquemment la question en opposant la sécurité à la confidentialité, en vue de trouver un équilibre entre la responsabilité qu’ont les gouvernements de protéger leurs citoyens et les droits des citoyens à protéger leur confidentialité contre les intrusions du gouvernement, des entreprises ou des criminels. L’Internet Society estime que la sécurité et la confidentialité ne sont pas nécessairement des concepts incompatibles. Au contraire, elles peuvent se renforcer mutuellement: la confiance des utilisateurs tient au sentiment que leurs communications sont à la fois confidentielles et sécurisées. Par exemple, l’assurance qu’un message est sûr (qu’il ne sera lu que par son destinataire prévu) permet à une variété de services Internet, en particulier le commerce électronique, de prospérer.
  • Les portes dérobées du cryptage. Cette expression désigne l’idée selon laquelle un outil peut aider un tiers autorisé à accéder à des données cryptées et à les décrypter sans avoir besoin des clés. Mais de telles portes dérobées permettraient également des accès furtifs au contenu. Le consensus technique[1] est que l’introduction de portes dérobées par l’une quelconque des techniques actuellement disponibles expose les utilisateurs légitimes à des risques et qu’elle n’empêchera probablement pas les criminels de communiquer de manière clandestine. Les acteurs malveillants seront susceptibles de trouver d’autres moyens de communiquer, alors que les utilisateurs standard ne disposent peut-être pas des mêmes outils. De ce fait, les communications criminelles pourraient être transmises sans être surveillées, alors que les communications des utilisateurs seraient exposées aux processus de surveillance et d’interception des gouvernements ou d’acteurs malveillants, qui ont découvert comment exploiter les portes dérobées.
  • Technologies inviolables. Dans le contexte du cryptage, les technologies inviolables sont conçues afin que des attaquants ne puissent pas facilement modifier les appareils, les applications ou les données, et que toute altération soit évidente. Utilisées en conjonction avec le cryptage, les mesures contre les altérations peuvent aider à empêcher (1) l’accès à un appareil après plusieurs tentatives de connexion; et (2) l’installation de portes dérobées de cryptage, de programmes malveillants furtifs (code malveillant visant à accéder à différentes zones d’un ordinateur sans autorisation), et d’autres logiciels malveillants. Ces dernières années, nous avons observé une évolution vers une utilisation accrue des technologies inviolables ainsi que de mécanismes qui effacent automatiquement les données dans certaines conditions (par exemple, au bout de 10 échecs de tentatives de saisie d’un mot de passe correct). Bien que les technologies inviolables aident à protéger l’intégrité des technologies, elles peuvent également présenter des difficultés pour les forces de l’ordre qui tentent d’accéder aux communications et aux données des suspects.

Principes directeurs

L’Internet Society offre les principes de politique d’orientation suivants:

  • Confidentialité et anonymat. Pour soutenir la libre expression des droits de l’homme, y compris la confidentialité et la liberté d’expression, les individus doivent pouvoir communiquer par Internet de façon confidentielle et anonyme.
  • Sécurité des données. Tout comme les individus ont le droit de protéger leurs actifs et leurs biens hors ligne, ils devraient avoir le droit d’utiliser le cryptage et d’autres outils pour protéger leurs données, leurs biens numériques et leurs activités en ligne. Nous encourageons le développement ouvert et la grande disponibilité des technologies de sécurité des données.
  • Confiance. La confiance des utilisateurs est essentielle à la croissance et à l’évolution continues d’Internet, et un nombre croissant d’utilisateurs réalisent la valeur de l’utilisation d’applications et services sécurisés et qui respectent la confidentialité. Nous encourageons la fourniture de mécanismes fiables pour l’authentification, la confidentialité et l’intégrité des données comme composantes techniques essentielles pour des produits et services fiables. Nous pensons aussi que des cadres réglementaires doivent soutenir les droits des individus, y compris le droit au respect à la vie privée.
  • Cryptage. Le cryptage devrait être la norme pour tout le trafic Internet. Les concepteurs et développeurs de produits et services numériques sont vivement encouragés à s’assurer que les données des utilisateurs, qu’elles soient stockées ou communiquées, soient cryptées par défaut. Dans la mesure du possible, le cryptage de bout en bout devrait être disponible.
  • Technologies inviolables. En soutien au cryptage, les technologies inviolables doivent continuer à être développées et mises en œuvre. Les gouvernements ne doivent pas exiger la conception de vulnérabilités dans les outils, technologies ou services. De même, les gouvernements ne doivent pas exiger que les outils, technologies ou services soient conçus ou développés pour permettre à des tiers d’accéder au contenu de données cryptées.
  • Divulgation responsable des vulnérabilités. Les gouvernements doivent soutenir le travail des chercheurs et d’autres acteurs dans le domaine de la sécurité afin d’identifier et de divulguer de manière responsable les vulnérabilités de sécurité et de confidentialité. Ils doivent éviter de créer ou de stimuler un marché pour les vulnérabilités « zero-day ».
  • Déploiement. Le renforcement du déploiement de mécanismes de sécurité, tels que le cryptage, entraînera des défis dans la conception, le développement, la gestion et l’exploitabilité de gestion de réseau. La gestion de réseau, la détection des intrusions et la prévention contre les spams seront confrontées à de nouvelles obligations fonctionnelles, et de nouveaux enjeux économiques et de politique sont à prévoir.
  • Solutions multipartites. Les criminels peuvent communiquer confidentiellement et anonymement. Résoudre les répercussions exige des actions concertées de multiples parties prenantes. L’Internet Society réaffirme son engagement à faciliter l’implication de toutes les parties prenantes et à jouer un rôle actif et techniquement informé dans le développement de solutions.

Rassembler les parties prenantes mondiales

En 2020, l’Internet Society a rejoint avec fierté Global Partners Digital et le Center for Democracy and Technology en tant que membre fondateur de la Global Encryption Coalition, qui compte désormais plus de 300 membres organisationnels et individuels, et qui a accueilli la première Journée mondiale du cryptage le 21 octobre 2021.

L’Internet Society a signé la pétition « Secure the Internet » (sécuriser Internet) pour montrer son soutien aux principes de la pétition, à savoir que les gouvernements ne doivent pas:

  • Interdire ou limiter l’accès de l’utilisateur au cryptage sous quelque forme que ce soit ou interdire sa mise en œuvre ou l’utilisation du cryptage par catégorie ou type.
  • Exiger la conception ou mise en place de portes dérobées ou vulnérabilités dans les outils, les technologies ou les services.
  • Exiger que les outils, les technologies ou les services soient conçus ou développés pour permettre à des tiers l’accès aux données non cryptées ou aux clés de cryptage.
  • Rechercher à affaiblir ou détruire les standards de cryptage ou intentionnellement influencer la création de normes de cryptage, sauf pour promouvoir un plus haut niveau de sécurité des informations.
  • Exiger des outils, normes, technologies ou algorithmes de cryptage non sécurisés.
  • Par des accords publics ou privés, contraindre ou faire pression sur une entité à s’engager dans une activité incompatible avec les principes ci-dessus énoncés.

L’Internet Society continue de prêter sa voix aux lettres ouvertes et aux coalitions de parties prenantes en faveur d’un cryptage fort et fiable. Vous trouverez ici une archive actualisée de ces déclarations: https://www.internetsociety.org/open-letters/

Ressources supplémentaires

Les fiches et documents d’information de l’Internet Society liés à ce problème sont disponibles gratuitement sur le site Web de l’Internet Society, et vous en trouverez un bon nombre sur notre page de ressources de cryptage: https://www.internetsociety.org/fr/issues/encryption/resources/

Les communiqués de presse et la couverture médiatique liés au cryptage de l’Internet Society sont disponibles sur notre page de centre média: https://www.internetsociety.org/fr/blog/?tx_category=cryptage

Vous trouverez les articles de l’Internet Society sur le cryptage sur notre page d’articles de blog: https://www.internetsociety.org/fr/blog/?tx_category=cryptage


Notes

[1] Keys Under Doormats: Mandating insecurity by requiring government access to all data and communications, IAB Statement on Internet Confidentiality, W3C TAG Finding: End-to-End Encryption and the Web, W3C TAG Finding: Securing the Web, https://www.m3aawg.org/news/keys-under-doormats-authors-receive-m3aawg-jd-falk-award-for-clarifying-insecurity-of.

‹ Retour

Ressources associées

Renforcer l'Internet 12 mai 2022

Comment protéger Internet contre le Splinternet

La notion de « Splinternet » repose sur l’idée que l’Internet ouvert et mondialement connecté que nous utilisons tous...

Qui sommes nous 11 mars 2022

Vision pour 2025

Une stratégie qui fait avancer notre vision durable: L’Internet est pour tout le monde.

Mode de fonctionnement du réseau Internet 8 novembre 2021

Les facilitateurs d’un Internet ouvert, mondialement connecté, sécurisé et fiable

Les facilitateurs d'un Internet ouvert, mondialement connecté, sécurisé et fiable sont ce qui nous aide à nous rapprocher de...

‹ Back
Encryption 9 June 2016

Policy Brief: Encryption

Originally published: 9 June 2016
Updated: 8 September 2022

Introduction

Encryption is all around us. It is used to protect data sent from all types of devices across all sorts of networks. In addition to protecting the electronic keyrings that store passwords for computers and spreadsheets that are “for your eyes only”, encryption is used to protect the information that is being exchanged every time a person uses an ATM, conducts a purchase from a smartphone, makes a call from a mobile phone, or presses a key fob to unlock a car. It is a versatile technology, increasingly pervasive in our daily lives, and critical to the security of much of what we do.

Encryption, the process of scrambling or enciphering data so it can be read-only by someone with the means to return it to its original state, is commonly used to protect both data stored on computer systems and data transmitted via computer networks, including the Internet. For data communicated over a network, modern encryption scrambles data using a secret value or key known only by the recipient and the sender. For stored data, the key is typically encrypted using a PIN or password known only to the device owner.

Encryption and related techniques are also used to build increased security for financial transactions and to protect the private communications of end-users. Examples include establishing whether data has been tampered with (data integrity), increasing users’ confidence that they are communicating with the intended receivers (authentication), and forming part of the protocols that provide evidence that messages were sent and received (non-repudiation).

Key Considerations

In practice, encryption takes the following broad forms:

  • Symmetric encryption uses an identical key to encrypt and decrypt the message. Both the sender and the receiver have access to the same key. While fast and efficient for computers, symmetric encryption must ensure that the key is reliably delivered to the recipient and does not fall into the wrong hands.
  • Asymmetric encryption, also known as public-key encryption, is a one-way form of encryption. Keys come in pairs, and information encrypted with the public key can only be decrypted with the corresponding private key. The recipient publicly publishes a key for the sender to encrypt their data. The recipient then uses a private key to decrypt the data. It is similar to a locked mailbox in which mail can be pushed through a slot for delivery but retrieved only by the owner with a key. Public-key encryption is more secure than symmetric encryption because the key doesn´t need to be transferred.
  • End-to-end (E2E) encryption is a form of encryption in which only the sender and intended recipient can read the message. The most important aspect of end-to-end encryption is that no third party, even the party providing the communication service, has knowledge of the encryption key. Examples of end-to-end encryption protocols include Pretty Good Privacy (PGP) and Off-the-Record Messaging (OTR). Examples of end-to-end encryption communication services include Apple’s iMessage, Signal, ProtonMail, WhatsApp and Threema. The Electronic Frontier Foundation has published a Surveillance Self Defense guide that provides information and toolkits on the features of various services and devices.
  • Data-at-rest encryption is any form of encryption that protects data physically stored in a digital form (e.g., on computers, storage disks, mobile devices, or Internet of Things).

In practice, encryption is applied in a layered approach. For example, a user encrypts his or her email using PGP or Secure/Multipurpose Internet Mail Extensions (S/MIME), and the email provider (e.g., Gmail) encrypts the transmission of the email using HTTPS.

It is important to note that encryption does not necessarily render all communications data unreadable. For example, communications metadata—including sender and recipient identifiers, message length, location, date and time — can be exposed in clear text.

Challenges

The widespread availability of encryption, as well as its versatile nature and use by different actors, presents a number of challenges.

  • Freedom of speech, anonymity, and abuse. Encryption technologies facilitate anonymous communication, a potential lifeline for citizens and activists under oppressive regimes and individuals in vulnerable communities, such as victims of domestic abuse, those in witness protection programs, and undercover police officers.

    The same technology, however, also can help bad actors hide activities and communications by using anonymity tools for cyberbullying and other forms of online abuse.

    The Internet Society acknowledges the legitimate objective of nation-states to protect their citizens but cautions against attempts to regulate technology in order to hinder criminals from communicating confidentially. This approach runs the risk of making it impossible for law-abiding citizens to protect the confidentiality of their data and communications and putting in jeopardy their rights to privacy, freedom of expression, and opinion. As described in our Collaborative Security report, the overall objective of security should be to foster confidence on the Internet and ensure the continued success of the Internet as a driver for technical innovation, and economic and social benefit.
  • The security–privacy conundrum. Policy debates about encryption frequently present the issue as security versus privacy, a matter of balancing the responsibility of governments to protect their citizens versus the rights of citizens to protect their privacy from government, commercial, or criminal intrusion. The Internet Society contends that security and privacy are not necessarily irreconcilable concepts. On the contrary, they can be mutually reinforcing user trust stems from a sense of both privacy and security. For example, trust that a message is secure (will only be read by its intended recipient) helps a variety of Internet services, most notably e-commerce, to flourish.
  • Encryption backdoors. This refers to the idea that a tool can help an authorized third-party gain access to and decrypt encrypted data without access to keys. But such backdoors also would allow covert access to content. The technical consensus[1] is that introducing backdoors by any of the currently proposed techniques puts legitimate users at risk and is unlikely to prevent criminals from communicating clandestinely. Bad actors will likely find alternative means of communicating, while average users may not have the same tools. This could both leave criminal communications immune from observation and leave user communications vulnerable to observation and interception by governments or bad actors, who have discovered how to exploit the backdoors.
  • Tamper-resistant technology. In the context of encryption, tamper-resistant technology is designed to make it difficult for attackers to modify devices, applications, or data, and to make any tampering evident. Used in conjunction with encryption, antitampering measures can help prevent (1) entry to a device after repeated login attempts; and (2) the installation of encryption backdoors, rootkits (malicious code designed to access different areas of a computer without authorization), and other malicious software. In recent years, there has been a trend towards greater use of tamper-resistant technology and mechanisms that automatically erase data under certain conditions (e.g., after 10 failed attempts to correctly enter a password). While tamper-resistant technology helps protect the integrity of technology, it may also present difficulties for law enforcement attempting to gain access to the communications and data of suspects.

Guiding Principles

The Internet Society offers the following guiding policy principles:

  • Confidentiality and anonymity. To support the unhindered expression of human rights, including privacy and freedom of expression, individuals should be able to communicate confidentially and anonymously on the Internet.
  • Data security. Just as individuals have the right to protect their offline assets and property, they should have the right to use encryption and other tools to protect their data, digital assets, and online activities. We encourage the open development and wide availability of data-security technologies.
  • Trust. User trust is critical to the Internet’s continued growth and evolution and increasing numbers of users are realizing the value of using secure and privacy-respecting applications and services. We encourage the provision of reliable mechanisms for authentication, data confidentiality, and data integrity as vital technical building blocks for trusted products and services. We also believe legal frameworks should support individuals’ human rights, including the right to privacy.
  • Encryption. Encryption should be the norm for all Internet traffic. Designers and developers of digital products and services are strongly encouraged to ensure that users’ information, whether stored or communicated, is encrypted by default. Where possible, end-to-end encryption should be made available.
  • Tamper-resistant technology. Tamper-resistant technology should continue to be developed and implemented in support of encryption. Governments should not mandate the design of vulnerabilities into tools technologies or services. Likewise, governments should not require that tools, technologies, or services be designed or developed to allow third-party access to the content of encrypted data.
  • Responsible disclosure of vulnerabilities. Governments should support the work of security researchers and others in identifying and responsibly disclosing security and privacy vulnerabilities and should avoid creating or stimulating a market for “zero-day” vulnerabilities.
  • Deployment. Increased deployment of security mechanisms, such as encryption, will result in challenges in network management design, development, management, and usability. Network management, intrusion detection, and spam prevention will face new functional requirements, and economic and policy challenges should be expected.
  • Multistakeholder solutions. Criminals can communicate confidentially and anonymously. Successfully confronting the repercussions of this requires the concerted action of multiple stakeholders. The Internet Society reaffirms its commitment to facilitating the engagement of all stakeholders and to playing an active and technically informed role in the development of solutions.

Convening Global Stakeholders

In 2020 the Internet Society was proud to join Global Partners Digital and the Center for Democracy and Technology as a founder member of the Global Encryption Coalition, which has now risen to over 300 organizational and individual members, and which hosted the inaugural Global Encryption Day on 21st October 2021.

The Internet Society signed the “Secure the Internet” petition, affirming its support for the petition’s principles, namely that governments should not do the following:

  • Ban or otherwise limit user access to encryption in any form or otherwise prohibit the implementation or use of encryption by grade or type.
  • Mandate the design or implementation of backdoors or vulnerabilities into tools, technologies, or services.
  • Require that tools, technologies, or services be designed or developed to allow for third-party access to unencrypted data or encryption keys.
  • Seek to weaken or undermine encryption standards or intentionally influence the establishment of encryption standards except to promote a higher level of information security.
  • Mandate insecure encryption algorithms, standards, tools, or technologies.
  • By private or public agreement, compel or pressure an entity to engage in activity that is inconsistent with the above tenets.

The Internet Society continues to lend its voice to open letters and stakeholder coalitions in support of strong reliable encryption. You will find an up-to-date archive of such statements here: https://www.internetsociety.org/open-letters/

Additional Resources

The Internet Society’s fact sheets and briefing papers related to this issue are freely available on the Internet Society website, and many can be found via our encryption resources page: https://www.internetsociety.org/issues/encryption/resources/

The Internet Society’s encryption related news releases and media coverage can be found on our newsroom page: https://www.internetsociety.org/newsroom/?tx_category=encryption

The Internet Society’s blog posts on encryption can be found on our blogposts page: https://www.internetsociety.org/blog/?tx_category=encryption


Endnotes

[1] Keys Under Doormats: Mandating insecurity by requiring government access to all data and communications, IAB Statement on Internet Confidentiality, W3C TAG Finding: End-to-End Encryption and the Web, W3C TAG Finding: Securing the Web, https://www.m3aawg.org/news/keys-under-doormats-authors-receive-m3aawg-jd-falk-award-for-clarifying-insecurity-of.

‹ Back

Related articles

Internet Way of Networking 19 August 2022

Internet Impact Brief: European Commission Proposal to Prevent and Combat Child Sexual Abuse

Read how limitations on encryption arising from the CSA Proposal would move the Internet further from its potential as...

Strengthening the Internet 4 March 2022

Internet Impact Brief: Bangladesh: Regulation for Digital, Social Media and OTT Platforms, 2021

Finds that the provisions outlined in the draft regulation could have serious repercussions on the usefulness of the Internet...

Encryption 12 October 2021

Factsheet: How Encryption Can Protect Advocacy Groups and Social Change Movements

Encryption is a tool designed to help Internet users keep their online data and communications private and secure. It plays...