Franchise vs Homegrown IXPs

‹ Retour

Il existe aujourd’hui de nombreuses approches pour établir et gérer un point d’échange Internet, y compris des initiatives locales, des déploiements de franchise, des solutions «Powered by», des projets mandatés par le gouvernement ainsi que des IXP clé en main.

L’objectif de cette session était de fournir une discussion équilibrée sur les avantages possibles et les inconvénients des différentes approches de l’établissement et de la gestion des IXP, permettant au public de tirer ses propres conclusions sur ce qui convient le mieux à son environnement local de peering.

La première heure et demie a été consacrée au thème de la journée, suivie d’un événement social interactif de 30 minutes pour les participants sur la plateforme en ligne «Gather Town». L’événement social a été conçu pour promouvoir le réseautage, la collaboration et le partenariat.

Si vous avez manqué l’événement ou si vous souhaitez revivre l’expérience, vous pouvez regarder l’enregistrement sur les chaînes suivantes:

‹ Retour
Date et heure

13:00 – 15:00 UTC

mardi 02 février 2021

Franchise vs Homegrown IXPs

‹ Back

There are many approaches to establishing and running an Internet Exchange Point today including Home-grown initiatives, Franchise deployments, “Powered by” solutions, Government mandated projects as well as Turnkey IXPs.

The objective of this session was to provide a balanced discussion on the possible benefits and the drawbacks of the different approaches to the establishment and management of IXPs, allowing the audience to draw their own conclusions on what best fits their local peering environment.

The first 1.5hrs was dedicated to the theme of the day followed by a 30-minute interactive social event for participants on “Gather Town” online platform. The social event was designed to promote networking, collaboration, and partnership.

Organized by the African IXP Association and the Internet Society, The Virtual Peering Series – Africa is a collection of online events that highlight and analyze key issues and recent developments in Africa’s Internet ecosystem. The Series has been developed by the AfPIF Program Committee and event organizers.

If you missed the event, or want to experience it again, you can watch the recording on following channels:

‹ Back
Date and Time

13:00 – 15:00 UTC

Tuesday 02 February 2021

Join the conversation with Internet Society members around the world