Recognizing Internet visionaries, innovators, and leaders from around the world Thumbnail
‹ Back
25th Anniversary 19 September 2017

Recognizing Internet visionaries, innovators, and leaders from around the world

Kathryn Brown
By Kathryn BrownFormer President / CEO

As the Internet Society celebrates 25 years of advocacy for an open, globally-connected, and secure Internet, we are honored to recognize some of the trailblazers who have fueled the Internet’s historic growth.

On September 18, the Internet Society gathered to honor the fourth class of Internet Hall of Fame Inductees at UCLA, where nearly 50 years ago the first message was sent over the Internet’s predecessor, the ARPANET.  Over the years, the Internet has evolved thanks to the tireless efforts of individuals, including these inductees, who believed in the potential of an open Internet.

Representing 10 countries, the 14 individuals who comprise the 2017 inductee class are computer scientists, academics, inventors and authors who have advanced the Internet with key technical contributions,  fostered its global reach and increased the general public’s understanding of how it works—in turn accelerating global accessibility and usage among us all.

Ultimately, the success of the Internet depends on the people behind it, and these inductees personify the pioneering spirit of the ‘Innovators’ and ‘Global Connectors’ that have been so instrumental in bringing us this unprecedented technology. They are some of the earliest Internet evangelists and their work has been the foundation for so many of the digital innovations we see today, and for generations to come.

Whether they were instrumental in the Internet’s early design, promoting its use, or expanding its global reach, we all benefit from their commitment and foresight.

Thank you for your work….and congratulations! 

More details on the 2017 Internet Hall of Fame inductees can be found at


  • Jaap Akkerhuis (Netherlands)
  • Yvonne Marie Andrés (United States)
  • Alan Emtage (Barbados)
  • Edward Krol (United States)
  • Tracy LaQuey Parker (United States)
  • Craig Partridge (United States)

Global Connectors

  • Nabil Bukhalid (Lebanon)
  • Ira Fuchs (United States)
  • Shigeki Goto (Japan)
  • Mike Jensen (South Africa)
  • Ermanno Pietrosemoli (Venezuela)
  • Tadao Takahashi (Brazil)
  • Florencio Utreras (Chile)
  • Jianping Wu (China)
‹ Back

Disclaimer: Viewpoints expressed in this post are those of the author and may or may not reflect official Internet Society positions.

Related articles

Internet's Future 9 January 2018

Future Thinking: Harlem Désir on Freedom of Expression Online

Harlem Désir is the Operation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) Representative on Freedom of the Media. Prior to...

Internet's Future 9 January 2018

Future Thinking: Paula Côrte Real on Freedom of Expression Online

Paula Côrte Real is a 24-year-old Brazilian who hopes to help create a safe and secure Internet experience for...

25th Anniversary 27 December 2017

Reflections on the Internet’s Past

Earlier this year, as part of the Internet Society’s 25th anniversary celebration, we asked you to share your memories of...

Join the conversation with Internet Society members around the world