About Internet Society 2 August 2021

Internet Society Announces New Members of Board of Trustees

Washington, DC – August 2, 2021 The Internet Society, a global nonprofit organization that promotes the development and use of an open, globally connected, secure, and trustworthy Internet, today announced that five new members have been seated on its Board of Trustees.

The Internet Society Board of Trustees is elected or appointed by chapters, organization members, the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), and the board. The results of the 2021 Board elections and appointments earlier this year are:

  • Luis Martínez was elected by chapters for a three-year term.  He is a professor at Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico and a member of the Advisory Committee of the Mexican Institute of Telecommunications.
  • Robert Pepper was re-elected by organization members to a second three-year term.  He currently helps lead Facebook’s connectivity and technology policy activities focusing on new technology development, deployment and adoption as well as Internet Governance issues. 
  • Paul Ebersman was elected by organization members for a one-year term.  He is a principal engineer and DNS architect for Neustar, an information services and technology company and a leader in identity resolution.
  • Brian Haberman was selected by the IETF for a three-year term. He is a Principal Staff Research Scientist at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory where his areas of research include DNS, routing protocol security, IP multicast, IPv6, medical IoT, network measurements, and network architecture. 
  • Jon Peterson was selected by the IETF for a three-year term.  He is a fellow at Neustar and best known for his early work on telephone softswitch technology and his contributions to the development of the Session Initiation Protocol (SIP). 
  • Muhammad Shabbir was appointed by the board for a one-year term. He is an analyst and rights activist and serves as Research Associate at the National Defense University in Islamabad.

The new board members were seated at the 2021 Annual General Meeting held from 31 July to 1 August. During the meeting, Ted Hardie was elected by trustees as Chair of the Board.  He replaces Gonzalo Camarillo who served as Board Chair from 2016 to 2021.

In addition, the board also elected Laura Thomson as Treasurer.  At a previous meeting, the board appointed Ilona Levine, Internet Society General Counsel, as the corporate Secretary.

The Internet Society Board of Trustees provides strategic direction in support of the organization’s mission.  More information, including biographical details of all board members and details of the selection process, is available at: https://www.internetsociety.org/board-of-trustees/.

The current members of the Internet Society Board of Trustees are:

  • Richard Barnes, Chief Security Architect for Collaboration at Cisco
  • Maimouna Diop, Head of Public Relations, SONATEL
  • Paul Ebersman, principal engineer and DNS architect for Neustar
  • Brian Haberman, principal staff research scientist at Johns Hopkins University
  • Mike Godwin, Global Policy, Trust and Safety, TikTok.
  • Ted Hardie, Vice President for Global Technical Standards at Cisco
  • Luis Martínez, Professor at Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico
  • Robert Pepper, Head of Global Connectivity Policy and Planning, Facebook
  • Jon Peterson, Fellow at Neustar
  • George Sadowsky, former Executive Director of the Global Internet Policy Initiative
  • Muhammad Shabbir, Research Associate, Institute of Strategic Studies, Research and Analysis at the National Defense University in Islamabad
  • Andrew Sullivan, President and CEO of the Internet Society; serves as a non-voting member of the board
  • Laura Thomson, Vice President of Engineering at Fastly
About the Internet Society

Founded in 1992 by Internet pioneers, the Internet Society (ISOC) is a global non-profit organization working to ensure the Internet remains a force for good for everyone. Through its community of members, special interest groups, and 130+ chapters around the world, the organization defends and promotes Internet policies, standards, and protocols that keep the Internet open, globally-connected, and secure. For more information, please visit: internetsociety.org.

Media Contact:
Allesandra deSantillana
Internet Society
[email protected]

Related resources

About Internet Society 11 July 2022

John Morris Joins Internet Society as Principal, Internet Policy and Advocacy

Morris will be joining a global team of Internet experts to drive campaigns that promote and defend the Internet...

About Internet Society 20 June 2022

Internet Society Announces New Members of Board of Trustees

Learn about four new members who have been seated on our board of trustees.

About Internet Society 7 April 2022

The Internet Society Announces New Appointments to the Public Interest Registry Board of Directors

The Internet Society today announced the appointment of Lena Beck Rørvig and Michael Silber to the Public Interest Registry...