Pre-2016 Press Releases 29 April 2019

The Internet Society Announces New Appointments to the Public Interest Registry Board of Directors

Washington, DC – 29 April,2019– The Internet Society today announced the re-appointment of Lise Fuhr and the new appointments of Keith Davidson and Gregory Kapfer to the Public Interest Registry (PIR) Board of Directors.  These board members will take their seats beginning in May 2019 and will serve three-year terms.

Keith Davidson has held senior management and board positions in the not-for -profit and commercial sectors. Mr. Davidson’s expertise crosses a variety of disciplines including newspaper, radio and more recently focused on the Internet.  He has held various roles including Executive Director and member of the Governing Council of InternetNZ, which manages the .nz top level domain. He served on the Internet Society Board of Trustees from 2012 to 2015.

Gregory Kapfer brings over 25 years of financial, operational, and management experience from both for-profit and not-for-profit technology companies to his PIR Board role.  He was most recently Chief Financial Officer of the Internet Society from 2007-2016.

Outgoing board members are Roberto Gaetanoand Tosca Bruno-van Vijfeijken. Gaetano has served on the PIR Board since 2013 and Bruno-van Vijfeijkenhas served since 2016.

Effective May 2019, the Public Interest Registry Board Members will be:

  • Lise Fuhr, Director General of the European Telecommunications Network Operators Association
  • Gregory Kapfer, independent consultant and Certified SCORE Mentor
  • Keith Davidson, retired non-profit organization executive and board member
  • Jeffrey Bedser, CEO of iThreat Cyber Group
  • Suzanne Woolf, Internet Technology Consultant
  • Narelle Clark, consultant at Pavonis Consulting
  • Jay Daley, Managing Director, techobscura Ltd
  • Andrew Sullivan, serves as liaison to the PIR Board in his capacity as President and CEO of the Internet Society

PIR is led by Jonathon Nevett, President and CEO.

About Public Interest Registry

Public Interest Registry is a nonprofit organization that operates the .org top-level domain — the world’s third largest “generic” top-level domain with more than 10.3 million domain names registered worldwide – and the .ngo and .ong domains and OnGood community website. Public Interest Registry also operates four Internationalized Domain Names to support and encourage local language use of the Internet.  As an advocate for collaboration, safety and security on the internet, Public Interest Registry’s mission is to educate and enable the global noncommercial community to use the internet more effectively, and to take a leadership position among internet stakeholders on policy and other issues relating to the domain naming system. Based in Reston, Virginia, USA, Public Interest Registry was founded by the Internet Society ( in 2002.

About the Internet Society

Founded by Internet pioneers, the Internet Society is a non-profit organization dedicated to ensuring the open development, evolution and use of the Internet. Working through a global community of chapters and members, the Internet Society collaborates with a broad range of groups to promote the technologies that keep the Internet safe and secure, and advocates for policies that enable universal access. The Internet Society is also the organizational home of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF).

Media Contacts:

Allesandra deSantillana
Internet Society
[email protected]

James LeFevre Public
Interest Registry
[email protected]

Related resources

About Internet Society 17 April 2024

The Internet Society Announces New Appointment to the Public Interest Registry Board of Directors

Get to know the new members that have been appointed to the Public Interest Registry (PIR) Board of Directors...

About Internet Society 26 September 2023

Champions of Internet Security, Accessibility, and Global Connectivity: 2023 Internet Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

New inductees expanded the Internet’s reach, strengthened its functionality and security, and increased its accessibility across communities and continents.

About Internet Society 13 June 2023

The Internet Society Announces New Appointments to the Public Interest Registry Board of Directors

Washington, DC – 13 June 2023 – The Internet Society today announced the appointment of Kathryn Kleiman to the Public Interest...