About Internet Society 20 June 2016

Internet Society Elects New Chair; Seats New Board Members at Annual General Meeting

[Washington, D.C.] – The Internet Society today announced that its Board of Trustees elected Gonzalo Camarillo as the new Chair during its Annual General Meeting 18-19 June 2016. It also seated new Board members who will now serve a term of three years. The Internet Society Board of Trustees is elected or appointed by Chapters, Organization Members, and the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF).

Gonzalo Camarillo is head of Data/IT standardization at Ericsson, where he works at the office of the CTO. He is an active participant at the IETF where he chairs several working groups. In the past, he served in both the IESG and the IAB. Gonzalo holds an MBA from AEE (Aalto University Executive Education; Finland), a PhD in Electrical Engineering from Aalto University (Finland), and two MSc degrees in Electrical Engineering from KTH (Royal Institute of Technology; Sweden) and UPM (Universidad Politecnica de Madrid; Spain). As part of his PhD studies, he was a visitor researcher at Columbia University (USA).

“I look forward to working with the Board of Trustees through the next phase of the Internet Society’s evolution. The Board members, with their diverse backgrounds, bring a wealth of experience to guide the organization in its mission of bringing the benefits of a globally connected Internet to everyone, everywhere,” said Gonzalo Camarillo.

The Board expressed its appreciation to outgoing Chair Bob Hinden, who has served on the Board since 2010, and as Chair since 2013. He is the Check Point Fellow at Check Point Software, and has been active in the IETF since 1985, and is the co-inventor of the IPv6 protocol. “It’s been an honor to be on the board and to serve as Chair. The Internet Society has come a long way in the past six years, and with the new Chair and continuing Board, I am confident it is well positioned for the future,” said Hinden.

The results of the 2016 Board elections are:

  • Desiree Miloshevic was re-elected by Organization Members to a three-year term. She is Senior Public Policy and International Affairs Adviser at Afilias, a global leader in domain name registry services and has served as Special Advisor to the chair of the UN Internet Governance Forum (IGF) Advisory group since 2006.
  • Harish Pillay was elected by Organization Members. He served as President of the Internet Society Singapore Chapter from 2013-2015 and is currently in charge of external engagements for the Chapter. He works for Red Hat Asia Pacific where he is global head of Community Architecture and Leadership.
  • Olga Cavalli, who was elected by Chapter members, is President of the Internet Society Argentina Chapter. In 2007, she co-founded the South School on Internet Governance which has granted more than 1500 fellowships for Internet Governance training in eight countries throughout the Americas.
  • Richard Barnes was selected by the Internet Architecture Board as the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) appointee to the Board of Trustees. He formerly served as Area Director for the Real-time Applications and Infrastructure area of the IETF and currently leads the Security and Privacy Engineering team at Mozilla.

The Board of Trustees also elected John Levine as the new Secretary. Levine replaces Scott Bradner, who is retiring after dedicating many years of service to the Internet Society. He served on the Board of Trustees from 1993-1999 and has been Secretary since 2003. The Board also re-elected Kathy Brown as President of the Internet Society and elected Sean Turner as Treasurer.

Along with Bob Hinden, there are two additional outgoing trustees:

  • Narelle Clark served on the Board since 2010. She is Deputy CEO of the Australian Communications Consumer Action Network and was president of the Internet Society Australia Chapter from 2011-2014.
  • Jason Livingood served on the Board of Trustees since 2011, and is currently Vice President of Internet and Communications Engineering at Comcast Cable.

“The Internet Society extends its sincere appreciation to Bob Hinden, Narelle Clark and Jason Livingood for their valuable contributions and years of service,” added Camarillo. “In addition, we thank Scott Bradner for his steadfast commitment to the Board as a trustee in the organization’s early years and as Secretary for the past 13 years.”

The current members of the Internet Society Board of Trustees are:

  • Walid Al-Saqaf, Software developer and postdoctoral researcher at Stockholm University
  • Richard Barnes, Firefox Security Lead, Mozilla
  • Gonzalo Camarillo, Head of Data/IT standardization at Ericsson
  • Olga Cavalli, Co-founder and Academic Director, South School on Internet Governance
  • Gihan Dias, Professor, University of Moratuwa
  • Hans Peter Dittler, CEO of BRAINTEC Netzwerk-Consulting
  • Hiroshi Esaki, Professor, the University of Tokyo
  • John Levine, President of CAUCE North America
  • Desiree Miloshevic, Senior Adviser, Public Policy and International Affairs, Afilias
  • Alice Munyua, Founder of the Kenya ICT Action Network
  • Harish Pillay, global head of Community Architecture and Leadership, Red Hat
  • Sean Turner, Founder of sn3rd
  • Kathy Brown, President and CEO of the Internet Society; serves as a non-voting Trustee

“The work of the Internet Society and its global community has never been more important,” said Kathy Brown, President and CEO of the Internet Society. “Our Board of Trustees plays a critical role in helping advance our mission and each member brings the experience and expertise needed to lead this organization into the future.”

The Internet Society Board provides strategic direction in support of the organization’s mission of preserving the open, global Internet. More information, including biographical details of all Board members and details of the Board selection process, is available at https://www.internetsociety.org/who-we-are/board-trustees.

About the Internet Society
The Internet Society is the trusted independent source for Internet information and thought leadership from around the world. It is also the organizational home for the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). With its principled vision and substantial technological foundation, the Internet Society promotes open dialogue on Internet policy, technology, and future development among users, companies, governments, and other organizations. Working with its members and Chapters around the world, the Internet Society enables the continued evolution and growth of the Internet for everyone. For more information, visit: www.internetsociety.org.

Media Contact:
Allesandra de Santillana
[email protected]
Telephone +41-22-807-1451

Related resources

About Internet Society 1 July 2024

Internet Society Foundation Appoints Chris Locke as New Executive Vice President and Managing Director

The Internet Society Foundation announced Chris Locke's appointment as its new Executive Vice President (EVP) and Managing Director.

About Internet Society 17 April 2024

The Internet Society Announces New Appointment to the Public Interest Registry Board of Directors

Get to know the new members that have been appointed to the Public Interest Registry (PIR) Board of Directors...

About Internet Society 26 September 2023

Champions of Internet Security, Accessibility, and Global Connectivity: 2023 Internet Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

New inductees expanded the Internet’s reach, strengthened its functionality and security, and increased its accessibility across communities and continents.