Pre-2016 Press Releases 8 September 2011

74th Internet Engineering Task Force Meeting Gathers more than 1150 Networking Thought Leaders

Membership of Community-driven IETF Leadership Confirmed

San Francisco, USA, March 31, 2009 – The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), the Internet’s premier technical standards body, last week gathered more than 1150 Internet thought leaders at its meeting in San Francisco. Many IETF working groups, where technical work in areas critical to the development of the Internet–including routing, transport and security–met in conjunction with the IETF meeting. Pradeep Sindhu, CTO and founder of official meeting host Juniper Networks, spoke to the IETF on “Clouds – The New Information Infrastructure.”

Several groups with key roles in the technical evolution of the Internet announced new leadership at the meeting.

Joel Halpern, Chair of the IETF Nominating Committee, said, “We are extremely pleased with the excellent incoming candidates from the many qualified community members who offered to serve. They demonstrate the community-driven approach that shapes the IETF and will build on the excellent work of past leaders.”

The IETF confirmed appointments for the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG), which provides the final technical review of Internet standards and is responsible for day-to-day management of the IETF. The confirmed IESG members include:

IETF Chair: Russ Housley
Applications Area Director: Alexey Melnikov
Internet Area Director: Ralph Droms
Operations and Management Area Director: Ron Bonica
Real-time Applications Infrastructure Area Director: Robert Sparks
Routing Area Director: Adrian Farrel
Security Area Director: Tim Polk
Transport Area Director: Lars Eggert
Members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) were also announced at the IETF meeting. IAB responsibilities include architectural oversight of IETF activities, and Internet Standards Process oversight and appeal. Incoming members of the IAB are:

Marcelo Bagnulo
Vijay Gill
John Klensin
Jon Peterson
Danny McPherson (incumbent)
Dave Thaler (incumbent)
Olaf Kolkman was reappointed as the Chair and Dow Street was reappointed as the Executive Director of the IAB. Aaron Falk was reappointed as chair of the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), which promotes research of importance to the evolution of the future Internet by creating focused, long-term Research Groups working on topics related to Internet protocols, applications, architecture and technology.

The next meeting of the Internet Engineering Task Force, IETF 75, will be held 26-31 July 2009 in Stockholm, Sweden. Registration for IETF 75 will open in April.

About the IETF

The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is a large open international community of network designers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. It is open to any interested individual. More information is available on the IETF website:

About the IAB

The Internet Architecture Board (IAB) is a committee of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and an advisory body of the Internet Society (ISOC). Its responsibilities include architectural oversight of IETF activities, Internet Standards Process oversight and appeal, and the appointment of the RFC Editor. The IAB is also responsible for the management of the IETF protocol parameter registries. For more information about the IAB, see:

About the Internet Society

The Internet Society is a non-profit organization founded in 1992 to provide leadership in Internet related standards, education, and policy. With offices in Washington, DC, and Geneva, Switzerland, it is dedicated to ensuring the open development, evolution, and use of the Internet for the benefit of people throughout the world. More information is available at:

Media Contact

Greg Wood
Internet Society
[email protected]

Related resources

Pre-2016 Press Releases 10 November 2015

Internet Society Partners with Pakistan Telecommunications Authority to Advance Digital Economy

The Internet Society, in partnership with the Pakistan Telecommunications Authority, will host INET Islamabad to address role of Information...

Growing the Internet 25 September 2015

Internet Society Statement on the 2015 UN Sustainable Development Summit

This week, the United Nations is hosting the Sustainable Development Summit (SDS) where the international community will embrace a...

Domain Name System (DNS) 3 September 2015

Internet Society Comments on the IANA Stewardship Transition Proposal

The Internet Society believes the proposal of the IANA Coordination Group (ICG) meets the principles set forth by NTIA...