Technology 10 November 2006

Bob Braden and Joyce K. Reynolds receive Postel Award

Bob Braden and Joyce K. Reynolds are this year’s recipients of the Internet Society’s prestigious Jonathan B. Postel Service Award.

(Reston, VA and Geneva, Switzerland – 10 November, 2006) The award was presented “For their stewardship of the RFC (Request for Comments) series that enabled countless others to contribute to the development of the Internet”. The presentation was made by Internet pioneer Steve Crocker (a member of this year’s Postel award committee and author of the very first RFC) during the 67th meeting of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) in San Diego.

The award is named after Dr. Jonathan B. Postel to commemorate his extraordinary stewardship exercised over the course of a thirty year career in networking. Between 1971 and 1998, Postel managed, nurtured and transformed the RFC series of notes created by Steve Crocker in 1969. Postel was a founding member of the Internet Architecture Board and the first individual member of the Internet Society, where he also served as a trustee.

“It is a pleasure and an honor for the Internet Society to recognize the contribution of Bob and Joyce to the evolution of the Internet,” said Crocker. “Since its humble beginnings, the RFC series has developed into a set of documents widely acknowledged and respected as a cornerstone of the Internet standards process. Bob and Joyce have participated in this evolution for a very long time and have been primarily responsible for ensuring the quality and consistency of the RFCs since Jon’s death in 1998.”

Joyce K. Reynolds worked closely with Postel, and together with Bob Braden she has been co-leader of the RFC Editor function at the University of Southern California’s Information Sciences Institute (ISI) since 1998. In this role she performed the final quality control function on most RFC publications. Reynolds has also been a member of the IETF since 1988, and she organized and led the User Services area of the IETF from 1988 to 1998. In her User Services role, she was an international keynote speaker and panelist in over 90 conferences around the world, spreading the word on the Internet.

Bob Braden, who has more than 50 years of experience in the computing field, joined the networking research group at ISI in 1986. Since then, he has been supported by NSF for research concerning NSFnet and the DETER security testbed, and by DARPA for protocol research. Braden came to ISI from UCLA, where he had technical responsibility for attaching the first supercomputer (IBM 360/91) to the ARPAnet, beginning in 1970. Braden was active in the ARPAnet Network Working Group, contributing to the design of the FTP protocol in particular. He also edited the Host Requirements RFCs and co-chaired the RSVP working group.

The Jonathan B. Postel Service Award was established by the Internet Society to honor those who, like Postel, have made outstanding contributions in service to the data communications community. The award is focused on sustained and substantial technical contributions, service to the community, and leadership. With respect to leadership, the nominating committee places particular emphasis on candidates who have supported and enabled others in addition to their own specific actions.

Previous recipients of the Postel Award include Jon himself (posthumously and accepted by his mother), Scott Bradner, Daniel Karrenberg, Stephen Wolff, Peter Kirstein, Phill Gross and Jun Murai. The award consists of an engraved crystal globe and $20,000.

Note to Editors

Also see: RFC 2555 – 30 Years of RFCs, published in April 1999.

About Internet Society

The Internet Society is a not-for-profit membership organization founded in 1992 to provide leadership in Internet related standards, education, and policy. With offices in Washington, DC, and Geneva, Switzerland, it is dedicated to ensuring the open development, evolution and use of the Internet for the benefit of people throughout the world. ISOC is the organizational home of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and other Internet-related bodies who together play a critical role in ensuring that the Internet develops in a stable and open manner. For over 14 years Internet Society has run international network training programs for developing countries and these have played a vital role in setting up the Internet connections and networks in virtually every country connecting to the Internet during this time.

For further details

Peter Godwin
Communications Manager, Internet Society
E-mail: [email protected]
4, rue des Falaises
1205 Geneva

Related resources

Technology 20 November 2019

Jonathan B. Postel Service Award Presented to Alain Aina

The 2019 Jonathan B. Postel Service Award has been presented to Alain Aina, the chief technology officer of the...

Building Trust 9 July 2019

Internet Society’s Online Trust Alliance Reports Cyber Incidents Cost $45B in 2018

Reston, VA – July 9, 2019 – The Internet Society’s Online Trust Alliance (OTA), which identifies and promotes security and privacy...

Building Trust 16 April 2019

OTA’s Online Trust Audit Scores Consumer-facing U.S. Government Websites Highest in Security and Privacy; Healthcare Comes in Last

“From the global economy to daily individual interactions, more and more of our lives are conducted online. Yet every...