Donate

Indigenous Connectivity Summit 2019

Community Networks Training Webinar

- Agenda -

Monday, 16 September 2019

2:30 PM-3:00 PM ET/ 11:30 AM-12:00 PM PT / 8:30 AM-9:00 AM HT

Community Networks 101


Speakers:

Cat Blake

Senior Program Manager, Next Century Cities

Jane Coffin

Senior Advisor to the CEO, Connectivity & Infrastructure


3:00 PM-4:30 PM ET/ 12:00 PM-1:30 PM PT / 9:00 AM-10:30 AM HT

The Business and Financing of Networks


Speakers:

Jane Coffin

Senior Advisor to the CEO, Connectivity & Infrastructure

Christopher Mitchell

Director of the Community Broadband Networks Initiative, ILSR

Brian Nakogee

Administrator/Manager

Monday, 23 September 2019

Monday, 30 September 2019

3:00 PM-4:30 PM ET / 12:00 PM-1:30 PM PT / 9:00 AM-10:30 AM HT

Community Engagement: Local Leadership Empowerment, Digital Literacy, Adoption


Speakers:

Penny Carpenter

Director, Keewaytinook Okimakanak (KNet)

Deb Socia

President and CEO, The Enterprise Center

Tim Whiteduck

Director of Technology, First Nations Education Council (FNEC)

Deployment: 
Digital Literacy:
  • Eetsii tthak t’agwahii getr’ootanahchàh: Digital Content and Connectivity with Dinjii Zhuh Contexts (Digital Literacy in Gwich’in Contexts) (University of Alberta/Gwich’in Tribal Council)

Monday, 7 October 2019

3:00 PM-4:30 PM ET / 12:00 PM-1:30 PM PT / 9:00 AM-10:30 AM HT

Strategic Partnerships


Speakers:

Mark Buell

Regional Bureau Director, North America

Rob McMahon

Associate Professor, Faculty of Extension, University of Alberta

Danae Wilson

Co-Chair, Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians, Telecom & Technology

Deployment:
Business Management:

Monday, 14 October 2019

3:00 PM-4:30 PM ET / 12:00 PM-1:30 PM PT / 9:00 AM-10:30 AM HT

Governance: How to Manage the “Business” of a Network and the Policies that Impact Ability to Build


Speakers:

Geoffrey Blackwell

Chief Strategy Officer and General Counsel, AMERIND Risk Management Corporation

Scott Rasmussen

Founding Board Member and Organizer, NYC Mesh

Denise Williams

CEO, First Nations Technology Council

Resources:

Monday, 21 October 2019

3:00 PM-4:30 PM ET / 12:00 PM-1:30 PM PT / 9:00 AM-10:30 AM HT

Network Security


Speakers:

Hosein Badran

Regional Technical Advisor, North America Bureau

Brandon Benallie

Computer/Digital Forensics Investigator and Network Security Consultant

Yann Berthier

CIRA Labs/IXP Program Manager, CIRA

Jacques Latour

Chief Technology Officer, CIRA

Ryan Polk

Senior Policy Advisor

Chris Ritzo

Program Management & Community Lead, Measurement Lab

Deployment: 
Community Networks:
IXPs:

Monday, 28 October 2019

3:00 PM-4:30 PM ET / 12:00 PM-1:30 PM PT / 9:00 AM-10:30 AM HT

Marketing & Communications


Speakers:

Natalie Campbell

Director, Public Advocacy and Community Organizing

Kim McKinley

Chief Marketing Officer, UTOPIA Fiber

Monday, 4 November 2019

3:00 PM-4:30 PM ET / 12:00 PM-1:30 PM PT / 9:00 AM-10:30 AM HT

Technical Training


Speakers:

Matthew R Rantanen

Director of Technology, Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association (SCTCA)

Steve Robert

Senior Network Analyst, Okimaw Technology Consulting

Spencer Sevilla

Research Scientist, University of Washington

The Indigenous Connectivity Summits help find and support solutions for connecting North American Indigenous communities to the Internet.