2019 Asia-Pacific Regional Community Networks Summit

29 August 2019

08:45 – 10:00

Refreshment and Networking Session

10:00 – 11:00

Inaugural Session


- Ms. Tiziana Bonapace, Director, ICT and Disaster Risk Reduction Division, UNESCAP
- Mr. Rajnesh Singh, Regional Director for Asia-Pacific, Internet Society
- Ms. Kalaya Chinatiworn, Executive Director of International Affairs Division, Ministry of Digital Economy and Society, Thailand
10:30 – 11:30

Plenary 1: Setting the scene – Innovating to connect the unconnected

The session will feature discussions on CN technology, models, content (services) and best practice in the Asia-Pacific region.


- Mr. Mahabir Pun, Founder, Nepal Wireless Networking Project
- Prof. Kanchana Kanchanasut, IntERLab Asian Institute of Technology
- Mr. John Jack, Deputy Chief Information Officer, Government of Vanuatu
- Mr. John Garrity, Advisor, Connectivity Capital
Moderator: Mr. Duncan Macintosh, Executive Director, APNIC Foundation
11:30 – 12:00


12:00 – 13:00

Plenary 2: Community Networks and SDGs

The session will deliberate how CNs can play a role in supporting socioeconomic development and the UN SDGs.


- Mr. Heon-Jun Kim, Senior Program Management Expert, UN Project Office on Governance
- Mr. Babu Ram Aryal, Founding Member, Internet Society Nepal
- Dr. Sarbani Banerjee Belur, Senior Research Scientist, Garm Marg Rural Broadband Project, India
- Mr. Waqas Hassan, Assistant Director, International Liasion, Pakistan Telecommunication Authority
Moderator: Ms. Duangthip Chomprang, Director, Office of International Cooperation, International Institute for Trade and Development
13:00 – 14:00


14:00 – 15:00

Plenary 3: Policy and Regulatory Support

The session will discuss CN policy and regulatory support around licensing, infrastructure sharing, spectrum allocation, the use of universal service funds and creating an enabling regulatory environment.


- Dr. Rekha Jain, Professor and Executive Chair, IIMA Idea Telecom Centre of Excellence, Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad
- Mr. Veari Iru, Manager Projects, National Informational Communicational Technology Authority, Papua New Guinea
- Ms. Renuka Rajaratnam, Public Policy Manager, Access Partnership
- Dr. Carlos Rey-Moreno, Policy and Regulation Coordinator, Association for Progressive Communications
Moderator: Mr. Parvez Iftikhar, ICT Consultant
15:00 – 15:30


15:30 – 16:30

Roundtable: Future Prospects for alternative last mile access in the Asia-Pacific

This session will capture the overall thematic discussions of the summit and be a high-level discussion on the future of alternative and complementary last mile access networks in the Asia-Pacific and the role they can play in achieving “Broadband for All”.


- Ms. Atsuko Okuda, Chief, ICT and Disaster Risk Reduction Division, UNESCAP
- Mr. Kondo Masanori, Deputy Secretary General, Asia-Pacific Telecommunity
- Mr. Jigme Tenzing, Director, Department of IT and Telecom, Ministry of Information and Communications, Bhutan
- Mr. Osama Manzar, Founder, Digital Empowerment Foundation
Moderator: Mr. Naveed Haq, Regional Development Manager, Internet Society
Date and Time

Thursday 29 August 2019