Minutes of Board Meeting No. 114

Author: S. Bradner
Date: 2014-07-02
Committee: BOT
Document: 2014-114
Status: confirmed
Maintainer: S. Bradner
Access: unlimited


114th Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Internet Society, July 2, 2014.

The ISOC Board of Trustees met from 1:05 PM to 2:01 PM UTC on Wednesday, July 2, 2014 via teleconference.

The following members of the Board of Trustees were present:

  • Kathy Brown
  • Eric Burger
  • Gihan Dias
  • Hans Peter Dittler
  • Hiroshi Esaki
  • Dave Farber
  • Bob Hinden
  • Jason Livingood
  • Desiree Miloshevic
  • Sean Turner
  • Rudi Vansnick

Regrets were received from Keith Davidson.
Narelle Clark recused herself from the meeting.

Also present:

  • Scott Bradner (Secretary)
  • ISOC staff

Minutes taken by Scott Bradner.

1. Call to order and background

Bob called the meeting to order at 1:05 PM UTC. He noted that this is a special executive session meeting of the board called to select ISOC’s representatives to the NTIA/IANA Stewardship Transition Coordination Group.

Bob said that he wanted to note for the record that the Board unanimously agreed to schedule this meeting for this time during its recent London meeting, and by doing so, waved the normal notice requirement for a Board meeting.

He also said that he also wanted to note for the record that he had sent a message to the Board yesterday asking that any board member that wished to be considered for this role please inform the board of that wish. He said that he had also instructed ISOC staff to set up a separate mailing list that had the same membership as the normal Board list except for those Board members that indicated that they wanted to be considered.

He noted that the information on all of the applicants and willing nominees was sent to the new list for review by the remaining Board members. He also noted that the Board member that indicated she wanted to be considered was not on this call.

Finally he said that if the Board passes a motion making selections to the Stewardship Transition Coordination Group during this special executive session meeting, the motion will be ratified during the next open board meeting.

2. Consider the candidates

The Board reviewed the selection process and the applicants. The Board then appointed Narelle Clark and Demi Getschko as the ISOC representatives on the NTIA/IANA Stewardship Transition Coordination Group.

Rudi moved to adjourn. Sean seconded the motion. There being no objection, the meeting was adjourned at 2:01 PM.

All Board Meeting Minutes

No. 114 (2 July 2014)