Announcing the Final Candidate Slates for the 2021 Board of Trustees Elections Thumbnail
About Internet Society 8 March 2021

Announcing the Final Candidate Slates for the 2021 Board of Trustees Elections

By George SadowskyMember, Internet Society Board of Trustees

On behalf of the 2020-2021 Nominations Committee, I am pleased to announce the final slates of candidates for the 2021 Internet Society Board of Trustees elections.

Chapters Election

As announced to this community on March 1, we received the required number of signatures in support of Glenn McKnight’s petition to stand as a candidate in the Chapters election. No other petitions were filed for the Chapters election. Therefore, the final slate for the Chapters Election is as follows:

  • Leiska Evanson
  • Luis Martinez
  • Glenn Carl McKnight
  • Rao Naveed Bin Rais
  • Muhammad Shabbir
  • Niels ten Oever

Chapter voters will elect one trustee in the 2021 election.

Separately, the Board, acting pursuant to its authority under Article II, Section 1(d), of the Internet Society By-Laws, has announced its intention to offer the runner-up in the Chapters Election a one-year appointment as trustee. This will restore the board to its usual complement of 12 voting members comprised of equal numbers from all three communities: Chapters, Organizational Members and the IETF. The number of voting members fell to 11 when Olga Cavalli resigned with one year remaining in her term.

Organizational Members Election

There were no successful petitions in the Organizational Members election, so the slate remains the same as previously announced.

  • Paul Ebersman
  • Robert Pepper
  • Wei Wang
  • Heather West

Organizational Member voters will elect two trustees in the 2021 election.

As previously announced, one of the two Organizational Member seats will include the usual three-year term of office. The other seat will include a one-year term. The candidate who receives the highest weighted vote count will be elected for the full three-year term, and the runner up will be elected for the one-year term.

Next Steps

Per the published Elections Timetable:

  • The Candidate Forum will open on March 26
  • Voting will be open from April 9 until April 23 at 15:00 UTC.

As a reminder, only the voting delegate of each Chapter and the voting representative of each Organizational Member are issued e-ballots, and only for their respective election.

Biographical information on all the candidates is available at:

This announcement concludes the work of the ISOC Nominations Committee. As chair of the committee, I want to thank colleagues who joined me as members for their hard work and commitment.

The Committee thanks all of the nominees who expressed interest and willingness to serve on the Internet Society Board of Trustees.

Disclaimer: Viewpoints expressed in this post are those of the author and may or may not reflect official Internet Society positions.

Related articles

About Internet Society 19 April 2024

Final Results of the 2024 Internet Society Board of Trustees Elections and IETF Selections

The Internet Society Elections Committee is pleased to announce the final results of the 2024 elections and the IETF...

Mutually Agreed Norms for Routing Security (MANRS) 2 November 2023

Achieving Greater Heights for MANRS

Partnering with the Global Cyber Alliance (GCA), we believe that MANRS will continue to be further established as the...

About Internet Society 28 April 2023

Final Results of the 2023 Internet Society Board of Trustees Elections, IETF Selection, and Board Appointee

The Elections Committee announces the final results of the 2023 elections, the IETF selection, and the Board appointee.