• أر
  • 中文
  • EN
  • FR
  • PT
  • РУ
  • ES

You are here

Prof. Farber has long been a prominent defender of the Internet and has been involved in both critical policy and technology deliberations, including his role as Chief Technologist for the FCC; mentor to many Internet pioneers and as an adviser to companies and governments.
His students, including Jon Postel, Paul Mockapetris and David Sincoskie, among others, have contributed much towards making the Internet a vital economic and political force. Farber played a key role in many systems that converged into today's Internet, including the National Science Foundation's CSNet, in addition to helping to plan and develop NSFNet and NREN, efforts that led to the development of the current commercial Internet.
David Farber was, prior to his retirement, Distinguished Career Professor of Computer Science and Public Policy in the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University holding secondary appointments in the Heinz College and the Engineering Public Policy Group. He is now an Adjunct Professor of Internet Studies in the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon as well as Distinguished Faculty Fellow at the University of Delaware. He also holds the Distinguished Career Professor of Science, Technology and Society in the School of Arts and Letters at Stevens Institute of Technology where he founded and directs the Center for the Study of Digital Life; a center devoted to long-term strategic studies of the impact of the digital age.
In 2003, he retired as the Alfred Fitler Moore Professor Emeritus of Telecommunication Systems at the University of Pennsylvania where he held appointments as Professor of Business and Public Policy at the Wharton School of Business and as a Faculty Associate of the Annenberg School of Communications.
In 1999, he was appointed to be Chief Technologist at the US Federal Communications Commission while on leave from UPenn for one year ending in 2000. While at UPenn, he co-directed The Penn Initiative on Markets, Technology and Policy. He was also Director of the Distributed Systems Laboratory - DSL where he managed leading edge research in Ultra High Speed Networking. Research papers of the DSL are available in its electronic library. His early academic research work was focused at creating the worlds first operational Distributed Computer System -- DCS while at the ICS Department at the University of California at Irvine. After that, while with the Electrical Engineering Department of the University of Delaware, he helped conceive and organize CSNet, NSFNet and the NREN. His initiative  in the creation of the NSF Gigabit Tested Initiative had a major impact on the evolution of high-speed communications.
He graduated from the Stevens Institute of Technology in 1956 and then started an eleven-year career at Bell Laboratories where he helped design the first electronic switching system - the ESS as well as co-designer of the programming language SNOBOL. He then went west to the Rand Corporation and to Scientific Data Systems prior to joining academia.
Prior to his appointment to the FCC, he served on the US Presidential Advisory Board on Information Technology. He is a Visiting Professor of the Center for Global Communications of Japan -- Glocom of the International University of Japan and a Member of the Board of Trustees of the Electronic Frontier Foundation, the Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC), and the Stevens Institute of Technology and the Internet Society.
At the Internet Society he serves on the Executive Committee and well as the Finance Committee. He also served as Co-chair of the CEO Search Committee.
He is a Fellow of both the ACM and the IEEE and was the recipient of the 1995 ACM Sigcomm Award for life long contributions to the computer communications field. He was awarded in 1997 the prestigious John Scott Award for Contributions to Humanity.  In 1999, he was awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Engineering from the Stevens Institute of Technology and in 2013 was awarded the Stevens Honor Award, Stevens highest award for outstanding contributions to his field.