About Internet Society 2 August 2019

Internet Society Seats New Board Members at Annual General Meeting

Reston, VA – August 2, 2019 – The Internet Society today announced that its Board of Trustees has seated two new Board members, Mike Godwin and Mieke van Heesewijk, during its Annual General Meeting held 27-28, July in Montreal, Canada.

Mike Godwin and Mieke van Heesewijk were elected by Organization Members, Olga Cavalli was re-elected by Chapters, and Richard Barnes was selected by the Internet Architecture Board and confirmed by the IETF to serve a second term on the Board.

The term of office for all four of these Trustees is three years, commencing with the 2019 Annual General Meeting.

During the meeting, the Board of Trustees re-elected Gonzalo Camarillo as Chair, John Levine as Secretary, and Richard Barnes as Treasurer of the Internet Society. The Board also extended its sincere appreciation to outgoing Trustees Désirée Miloshevic and Harish Pillay.

The Internet Society Board of Trustees provides strategic direction in support of the organization’s mission of preserving an open, globally connected and secure Internet. More information, including biographical details of all Board members and details of the Board selection process, is available at https://www.internetsociety.org/board-of-trustees/.

About the Internet Society
Founded by Internet pioneers, the Internet Society is a non-profit organisation dedicated to ensuring the open development, evolution and use of the Internet. Working through a global community of chapters and members, the Internet Society collaborates with a broad range of groups to promote the technologies that keep the Internet safe and secure and advocates for policies that enable universal access. The Internet Society is also the organisational home of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). For more information, visit www.internetsociety.org.

Related resources

About Internet Society 11 July 2022

John Morris Joins Internet Society as Principal, Internet Policy and Advocacy

Morris will be joining a global team of Internet experts to drive campaigns that promote and defend the Internet...

About Internet Society 20 June 2022

Internet Society Announces New Members of Board of Trustees

Learn about four new members who have been seated on our board of trustees.

About Internet Society 7 April 2022

The Internet Society Announces New Appointments to the Public Interest Registry Board of Directors

The Internet Society today announced the appointment of Lena Beck Rørvig and Michael Silber to the Public Interest Registry...