About Internet Society 7 August 2013

Internet Society Board of Trustees Elects New Chair

New Board seated at Board Meeting, held 3-4 August in Berlin

[Berlin, Germany] – The Internet Society Board of Trustees seated its new Board and elected a new Chair, Robert Hinden, at its recent meeting in Berlin, Germany. The Internet Society Board provides strategic direction in support of the organization’s mission of preserving the open, global Internet.

During the Board meeting, Robert Hinden was elected as the Chair. He is a Check Point Fellow at Check Point Software; a co-inventor of IPv6; a member of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) Administrative Oversight Committee (IAOC); and he co-chairs the IPv6 working group (6MAN) at the IETF. Previously at Nokia, he was a Nokia Fellow, Chief Internet Technologist at Nokia Networks, and Chief Technical Officer (CTO) at the Nokia IP Routing Group.

Hinden commented, “The Internet Society serves a pivotal role in the world, with its vital work as a global leader on Internet policy, technical, economic, and social matters, and as the organizational home to the IETF. It is a privilege to serve as the Chair of the Board of this organization. We have a very international Board, all united by a passion for ensuring the Internet remains free and open for future generations.”

The Board expressed its appreciation to outgoing Chair Eva Frölich, who was the first female Chair and provided tremendous leadership since being elected in July 2012. She joined the Internet Society Board of Trustees in 2010 and served as Treasurer for the first two years. Ms. Frölich commented, “It has been an honor to work with the Internet Society and to serve as Chair during the past year. The Internet Society is well-positioned to continue to make an impact on the issues that are critical to the Internet’s future development.”

The Internet Society Board of Trustees are elected or appointed by the following groups: Chapters, Organization Members, and the IETF. The results of the 2013 Board elections were:

  • Chapters re-elected Narelle Clark to a three-year term;
  • Organization Members re-elected Jason Livingood and elected new Board member, Désirée Miloshevic, both to three-year terms; and
  • Robert Hinden was re-appointed as an IETF appointee to the Board.

The current members of the Internet Society Board of Trustees therefore are:

  • Alain P. Aina, Managing Director at Technologies Reséaux & Solutions and Special Projects Manager at AFRINIC (the Internet Address Registry for Africa)
  • Eric Burger, Research Professor of Computer Science, and Director, Security and Software Engineering Research Center at Georgetown University
  • Narelle Clark, Deputy CEO, Australian Communications Consumer Action Network; President of the Internet Society Australian Chapter
  • Keith Davidson, International Director, InternetNZ
  • Raúl Echeberría, Executive Director & CEO of LACNIC (the Internet Address Registry for Latin America and the Caribbean)
  • David Farber, Distinguished Career Professor of Computer Science and Public Policy in the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University
  • Robert Hinden, Check Point Fellow at Check Point Software
  • Jason Livingood, Vice President of Internet & Communications Engineering, Comcast
  • Désirée Miloshevic, Senior Advisor, Public Policy and International Affairs, Afilias
  • Lynn St. Amour, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Internet Society; serves as ex-officio and as a non-voting Trustee
  • Theresa Swinehart, Executive Director, Global Internet Policy, Verizon Communications
  • Rudi Vansnick, President of Internet Society Belgium
  • Bert Wijnen, Research engineer at RIPE-NCC in the Netherlands

During the meeting, the Board of Trustees re-elected Scott Bradner as Secretary. Mr. Bradner has dedicated many years of outstanding service to the Internet Society, serving on the Board of Trustees from 1993-1999 and as Secretary since 2003. The Board also re-elected Lynn St. Amour as President and Jason Livingood as Treasurer.

“As a global organization, we value the rich diversity and broad range of perspectives of our Trustees,” said Lynn St. Amour, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Internet Society. “We deeply appreciate the Board’s commitment to our Mission and their unwavering support of our vision of an Internet that is open and accessible for everyone.”

More information, including biographical details of all Board members and details of the Board selection process, is available at: http://www.isoc.org/isoc/general/trustees.

About the Internet Society:
The Internet Society is the trusted independent source for Internet information and thought leadership from around the world. With its principled vision and substantial technological foundation, the Internet Society promotes open dialogue on Internet policy, technology, and future development among users, companies, governments, and other organizations. Working with its members and Chapters around the world, the Internet Society enables the continued evolution and growth of the Internet for everyone. For more information, visit http://www.internetsociety.org.

Media Contact:
Wende Cover, [email protected]

Related resources

About Internet Society 17 April 2024

The Internet Society Announces New Appointment to the Public Interest Registry Board of Directors

Get to know the new members that have been appointed to the Public Interest Registry (PIR) Board of Directors...

About Internet Society 26 September 2023

Champions of Internet Security, Accessibility, and Global Connectivity: 2023 Internet Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

New inductees expanded the Internet’s reach, strengthened its functionality and security, and increased its accessibility across communities and continents.

About Internet Society 13 June 2023

The Internet Society Announces New Appointments to the Public Interest Registry Board of Directors

Washington, DC – 13 June 2023 – The Internet Society today announced the appointment of Kathryn Kleiman to the Public Interest...