You are here

Applied Networking Research Prize

ANRP winner Te-Yuan (TY) Huang presents her research
ANRP winner Te-Yuan (TY) Huang presents her research (c) Stonehouse Photographic

2015 ANRP winners for IETF-93 announced

Haya Shulman for analyzing the deficiencies of DNS privacy approaches: 

Haya Shulman. Pretty Bad Privacy: Pitfalls of DNS Encryption. Proc. ACM Workshop on Privacy in the Electronic Society (WPES), Scottsdale, AZ, USA, November 3, 2014. 

João Luís Sobrinho for designing a route-aggregation technique that allows filtering while respecting routing policies: 

João Luís Sobrinho, Laurent Vanbever, Franck Le and Jennifer Rexford. Distributed Route Aggregation on the Global Network. Proc. ACM CoNEXT, Sydney, Australia, December 2-5, 2014. 

About the ANRP

The Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) recognizes the best new ideas in networking, and bring them to the IETF and IRTF especially in cases where they would not otherwise see much exposure or discussion.

The ANRP is awarded for recent results in applied networking research that are relevant for transitioning into shipping Internet products and related standardization efforts. Researchers with relevant, recently published results are encouraged to apply for this prize, which will offer them the opportunity to present and discuss their work with the engineers, network operators, policy makers and scientists that participate in the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and its research arm, the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF).
Third-party nominations for this prize are also encouraged. 
The Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) consists of:
  • Invitation to talk at the IRTF Open Meeting
  • Cash prize of $500 (USD)
  • Travel grant to attend the week-long IETF meeting (airfare, hotel, registration, stipend)
  • Recognition at the IETF plenary
  • Invitation to related social activities
  • Potential for additional travel grants to future IETF meetings, based on community feedback
The Applied Networking Research Prize will be awarded three times per year, in conjunction with the three annual IETF meetings.


The Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) is supported by the Internet Society, as part of its Internet Research Awards Programme, in coordination with the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF).